Development strategy

THE TWO MOST ADVANCED BIOPHYTIS PROGRAMMES TARGET THE TREATMENT OF TWO AGE-RELATED PATHOLOGIES THAT ARE PARTICULARLY DISABLING, IN INDICATIONS WITH NO DRUG-BASED SOLUTION TODAY : SARCOPENIA (MUSCLE DEGENERATION) AND ARMD (AGE-RELATED MACULAR DEGENERATION).

The development strategy chosen by BIOPHYTIS is particularly original. It resides in the fact that each of its two research programmes forms a complete “technological package” consisting of:

  • a first generation candidate (Series 01: SARCONEOS and MACUNEOS) based on the development of the natural active substance extracted from the medicinal plant as the active ingredient;
  • a second generation candidate (Series 03) based on the development of a proprietary analogue derived from production of the compound by chemical hemisynthesis.
  • a well explored and described mechanism of action and pathway.
  • a characterisation of the effects in a number of secondary indications.

The Series 01 : SARCONEOS and MACUNEOS is derived from a phenotype screening process on cellular and animal models of the pathology. Their origin also enables the clinical development of the identified candidates. Because of their dietary exposure in man these substances have very low levels of toxicity. The discovery of their effects on the aging process has enabled their use in treating targeted pathologies to be patented. BIOPHYTIS has thus developed SARCONEOS for treating sarcopenia and MACUNEOS for ARMD.

As for the Series 03, it has been developed through detailed understanding of the mechanisms of action of the first generation products, in particular of the candidates’ molecular targets. This involves analogue compounds of the natural substances synthesised by medicinal chemistry and selected from previously calibrated cellular models. Their chemical synthesis, which has been patented by BIOPHYTIS, also enables some of their pharmacological properties to be enhanced, in particular their bioavailability. BIOPHYTIS has thus developed BIO103 for the treatment of sarcopenia and BIO203 for the treatment of ARMD.

Stratégie de développement

Les deux programmes les plus avancés de Biophytis visent à traiter deux pathologies liées à l’âge particulièrement handicapantes, sans solution médicamenteuse dans leurs indications : la sarcopénie (dégénérescence musculaire) et la DMLA (Dégénérescence Maculaire Liée à l’Age).

La stratégie de développement de Biophytis est particulièrement originale. Elle réside dans le fait que ses deux programmes de recherche forment chacun un « package technologique » complet comprenant :

  • un candidat de première génération (Série  01 : SARCONEOS et MACUNEOS) basé sur le développement de la molécule active naturelle extraite de la plante alimentaire ou médicinale, comme principe actif ;
  • un candidat de seconde génération (Série  03) basé sur le développement d’un analogue propriétaire de la molécule active naturelle, issu de la production par hémi-synthèse chimique du composé.
  • des mécanismes d’action explorés et décrits
  • une caractérisation des effets dans plusieurs indications secondaires

Principes

La Série 01 : SARCONEOS et MACUNEOS est issue d’un processus de screening phénotypique sur des modèles cellulaires et animaux de la pathologie. Leur origine nutritionnelle permet en outre d’accélérer le développement clinique des candidats identifiés. En raison de leur exposition alimentaire chez l’homme, ces substances disposent en effet d’une très faible toxicité. La découverte de leurs effets sur les processus de vieillissement a permis de breveter leur utilisation dans le traitement de pathologies ciblées. Biophytis a ainsi développé SARCONEOS dans le traitement de la sarcopénie et MACUNEOS dans la DMLA.

La Série  03 quant à elle est développée grâce à la compréhension précise des mécanismes d’action des produits de première génération, en particulier des cibles moléculaires des candidats. Il s’agit de composés analogues des molécules actives naturelles synthétisés par chimie médicinale et sélectionnés dans des modèles cellulaires préalablement calibrés. Leur synthèse chimique, brevetée par Biophytis, permet en outre d’améliorer certaines de leurs propriétés pharmacologiques, en particulier leur biodisponibilité. Biophytis a ainsi développé BIO103 dans le traitement de la sarcopénie et BIO203 pour traiter la DMLA.