Muscular diseases platform

Biophytis’ lead candidate SARCONEOS is the first representative of a new class of drug candidates formulated to activate the MAS receptor to protect muscles. SARCONEOS has proven to be safe in two clinical studies.

SARCONEOS activates the MAS receptor

MAS activation triggers three pathways that allow muscle to regenerate, grow, and strengthen.

  • By activating the MAPK/P38/JNK pathway, satellite stem cells are driven to differentiate and regenerate into muscle cells.
  • By activating the P13K/Akt/mTOR pathway, myostatin production is inhibited and protein synthesis is stimulated, ultimately leading to preserved muscle size.
  • By activating the AMPK/ACC pathway, fatty acid oxidation and glucose uptake result in better energy production and utilization, allowing for increased muscle strength and improved endurance.

MAS

The cumulative effects of activating MAS may lead to better clinical outcomes in patients with degenerative muscle diseases rather than other approaches, which typically target a single pathway, such as myostatin inhibition.

Sarconeos has shown both anabolic properties and beneficial effects on muscle energy metabolism

The effect of Sarconeos on the differentiation of myoblasts into myotubes has been studied in murine (mouse) and human models. Both models showed hypertrophic effects characterised by an increase in the fusion index, the diameter of the myotubes and the number of nuclei per myotube.

SARCONEOS-2

Hypertrophic effect of Sarconeos on human muscle fibres

The hypertrophy observed in response to Sarconeos treatment is consistent with a significant increase in protein synthesis, the activation of intracellular transduction pathways involved in protein anabolism and the inhibition of myostatin gene expression in murine myoblasts. AKT and S6K (AKT/mTOR pathway) are activated by phosphorylation.

SARCONEOS-3

Activation of a transduction pathway involved in proteosynthesis

The mitochondrial reserve respiratory capacity (RCC) of myotubes is significantly increased by Sarconeos. This metabolic parameter is used to define the amount of ATP that can be produced by oxidative phosphorylation in response to a demand for energy. These results were the subject of an oral presentation at the International Congress on Frailty and Sarcopenia Research (ICFSR) held in Miami from 1st to 4th March 2018.

SARCONEOS-4

Significant increase in reserve respiratory capacity of myotubes following treatment with Sarconeos

SARA-PK Clinical Study

A clinical safety, pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic study was conducted in healthy volunteers, both young and elderly, following a single ascending dose and multiple ascending doses for 14 days.
The design of this study is presented below:

  • The single ascending dose (SAD) involved the oral administration of Sarconeos in installments to 24 subjects in 2 age groups: 2 groups of adults aged 18-55 years in increasing doses ranging from 100 mg to 1400 mg, and 1 group of adults aged 65-85 years in a dose of 1400 mg.
  • The multiple ascending dose (MAD) concerned 3 Sarconeos dosages: 350 mg once daily; 350 mg bid (twice daily) and 450 mg bid administered to groups of 10 adults aged 65-85 years over 14 days.

The safety, pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic results of SARA-PK confirmed the favorable drug profile of SARCONEOS and allowed us to define which two doses to test in phase 2.

Moreover, the effects of SARCONEOS intake on the evolution of pharmacodynamic markers were evaluated for MAD in an exploratory setting. Very interesting preliminary results showed a tendency towards a decreased plasma level in muscle catabolism markers (myoglobin, creatine kinase) and the renin–angiotensin system (aldosterone and renin).

Plateforme des maladies musculaires

Le candidat principal de Biophytis, SARCONEOS, est le premier représentant d’une nouvelle classe de candidats médicaments conçus pour activer le récepteur MAS et protéger ainsi les muscles. SARCONEOS a déjà prouvé son innocuité dans deux études cliniques.

SARCONEOS active le récepteur MAS

L’activation de MAS déclenche trois processus qui permettent aux muscles de se régénérer, de croître et de se renforcer.

  • En activant la voie MAPK/P38/JNK, les cellules souches satellites se différencient et se régénèrent en cellules musculaires.
  • En activant la voie P13K/Akt/mTOR, la production de myostatine est inhibée et la synthèse protéique est stimulée, ce qui permet de préserver la taille des muscles.
  • En activant la voie AMPK/ACC, l’oxydation des acides gras et l’absorption du glucose améliorent la production et l’utilisation de l’énergie, ce qui augmente la force musculaire et l’endurance.

page10FR

Les effets cumulatifs de l’activation de MAS peuvent mener à de meilleurs résultats cliniques chez les patients atteints de maladies musculaires dégénératives comparés à d’autres approches qui ciblent généralement une voie unique comme l’inhibition de la myostatine.

Sarconeos a démontré à la fois des propriétés anabolisantes et des effets bénéfiques sur le métabolisme énergétique musculaire.

L’effet de Sarconeos sur la différenciation des myoblastes en myotubes a été étudié dans des modèles murins (souris) et humains. Les deux modèles ont montré des effets hypertrophiques caractérisés par une augmentation de l’indice de fusion, du diamètre des myotubes et du nombre de noyaux par myotube.

Sarconeos-2Effet hypertrophique de Sarconeos sur les fibres musculaires humaines

L’hypertrophie observée en réponse au traitement par Sarconeos est compatible avec une augmentation significative de la synthèse protéique, l’activation des voies de transduction intracellulaire impliquées dans l’anabolisme protéique et l’inhibition de l’expression génique de la myostatine dans les myoblastes murins. AKT et S6K (voie AKT/mTOR) sont activés par phosphorylation.

Sarconeos-3Activation d’une voie de transduction impliquée dans la protéosynthèse de Sarconeos

La capacité respiratoire de réserve mitochondriale (RCC) des myotubes est significativement augmentée par Sarconeos. Ce paramètre métabolique est utilisé pour définir la quantité d’ATP qui peut être produite par phosphorylation oxydative en réponse à une demande d’énergie. Ces résultats ont fait l’objet d’un exposé au congrès international de recherche sur la fragilité et la sarcopénie (ICFSR) qui s’est tenu à Miami du 1er au 4 mars 2018.

Sarconeos-4Augmentation significative de la capacité de réserve respiratoire des myotubes  suite au traitement avec Sarconeos

Étude clinique SARA-PK

Une étude clinique d’innocuité, pharmacocinétique et pharmacodynamique a été menée chez des volontaires sains, jeunes et âgés, après administration d’une dose unique ascendante et de doses multiples ascendantes pendant 14 jours.

Le design de cette étude est présenté ci-dessous :

  • La dose unique ascendante (SAD) consistait en l’administration orale de Sarconeos par tranches à 24 sujets dans deux groupes d’âge : deux groupes d’adultes âgés de 18 à 55 ans à des doses croissantes allant de 100 mg à 1 400 mg, et un groupe d’adultes âgés de 65 à 85 ans à une dose de 1 400 mg.
  • La dose multiple ascendante (MAD) consistait en 3 doses de Sarconeos : 350 mg une fois par jour ; 350 mg BID (deux fois par jour) et 450 mg BID administrés à des groupes de 10 adultes âgés de 65 à 85 ans pendant 14 jours.

Les résultats en termes d’innocuité, de pharmacocinétique et de pharmacodynamique de SARA-PK ont confirmé le profil pharmaceutique favorable de SARCONEOS et nous ont permis de définir les deux doses à tester en phase 2.

De plus, les effets de l’apport de SARCONEOS sur l’évolution des marqueurs pharmacodynamiques ont été évalués au cours de la MAD dans un contexte exploratoire. Des résultats préliminaires très intéressants ont montré une tendance à la baisse du taux plasmatique des marqueurs du catabolisme musculaire (myoglobine, créatine kinase) et du système rénine-angiotensine (aldostérone et rénine).