Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy : MYODA clinical program

Logo-Myoda

About Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy

Duchenne muscular dystrophy (DMD) is a rare, X-linked recessive inherited disorder affecting 1 in 3,500 boys. DMD is the most common muscle dystrophy in children and has a fatal outcome.

DMD is due to the alteration of the dystrophin gene, which results in the absence of functional dystrophin, leading to progressive muscle weakness, but also to cardiac defects and impaired respiratory function, leading to premature death of patients before the age of 40. In the European Union, the prevalence of DMD is estimated at 0.81 per 10,000.

The absence of dystrophin makes the DAGC complex unstable and the membrane of the muscle fibres is severely weakened. Therefore, during muscle contraction, the fibres will become damaged, and will eventually die (necrosis). Muscle tissue regeneration phenomena are set up in parallel, starting from the stem cells of the muscle tissue (the satellite cells). When the regenerative mechanisms are exhausted, degeneration prevails, the muscle fibres are then replaced by connective tissue (fibrosis) and adipose tissue, resulting in a loss of muscle strength and an intolerance to exercise.

The first clinical signs of the disease develop during childhood. In fact, the first symptoms are usually reported before the age of 5. DMD evolves according to a very well described progression. The disease manifests itself first in the lower muscles. Around the age of 10 to 12, the use of a wheelchair becomes essential. The muscle tone of the trunk and arms gradually disappears, leading to complications (bronchopulmonary infections and ventilatory complications), as well as severe scoliosis. Around the age of 20, patients develop major respiratory and cardiac failures, which inexorably lead to death around the age of 30.

Proof of concept

Biophytis focused on a murine (mouse) model of Duchenne muscular dystrophy (mdx mouse), which has a mutation on the dystrophin gene, to demonstrate the beneficial effects of BIO101 in a context of myopathy. Untreated animals with myopathy (mdx) have very poor physical performance compared with control animals, which do not have the disease (C57Bl10). Mdx animals that receive a daily dose of Sarconeos administered orally show significant improvement in their physical performance with:

  • An increase in their running distance (exercise tolerance) by a factor of 2.4
  • An increase in absolute muscle strength

Duchenne-1Effect of Sarconeos intake on physical performance (running distance and absolute maximum strength) of a mouse model with Duchenne muscular dystrophy (mdx mouse)

The study of muscle histology of mice with myopathy shows that mdx mice exhibit inflammatory infiltration as well as areas of fibrosis compared to healthy muscle in C57Bl10 control mice. In a very interesting way, Biophytis has demonstrated that Sarconeos improves the muscular lesion profile. Indeed, daily treatment of mice with Sarconeos makes it possible to decrease the atrophy of the muscular fibers and the chronic inflammatory associated with fibrosis.

At the level of the heart, the analysis of molecular markers made it possible to show that the daily oral treatment of mdx mice by Sarconeos allows the reduction of markers of fibrosis (ctgf) as well as markers of cardiac hypertrophy (myh7 and bmp4), which are increased in Duchenne muscular dystrophy.

Duchenne-2Effect of Sarconeos treatment on cardiac expression of markers of fibrosis (Ctgf) or cardiac hypertrophy (Myh7 and Bmp4) in mdx mice.

The beneficial functional effects observed in Sarconeos-treated animals are consistent with the results obtained with human cells from a patient with Duchenne muscular dystrophy. Indeed, Sarconeos is responsible for improving the differentiation of DMD myoblasts into myotubes. Moreover, in these same cells, Sarconeos induces significant activation of the AKT/mTOR and MAPK/ERK signaling pathways, respectively, involved in photosynthesis, proliferation, cell survival and in muscle regeneration and remodeling.

Duchenne-3Effect of Sarconeos on three parameters concerning the differentiation of myoblasts from a DMD patient.

MYODA clinical program

The clinical programme of Sarconeos for Duchenne muscular dystrophy (DMD) will consist of 2 main studies: MYODA-PK and MYODA-INT.

The first study, MYODA-PK, is a combined SAD-MAD phase-1/2 paediatric study. It aims to evaluate the safety, pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of the new paediatric form of Sarconeos in 27 paediatric patients (aged 2-18 years) after single ascending dose (SAD) administered orally and then multiple ascending doses (MAD) administered orally for 24 weeks. We plan 4 SAD doses, from which 3 will be tested in MAD. The safety and acceptability, adverse effects, and pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic profiles of BIO101 will be evaluated by age group. Sarconeos will be tested in its new formulation appropriate for paediatric patients.

The second study, MYODA-INT, is a phase-3, randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled clinical trial. It aims to evaluate the safety and effectiveness of SARCONEOS in the new oral formulation to be administered to 120 paediatric patients aged 5-12 years with Duchenne muscular dystrophy. The treatment duration is 12 months. The primary endpoints will be for ambulatory patients, the change in North Star Ambulatory Assessment (NSAA), and for non-ambulatory patients, the change in performance upper limb (PUL) test score.

Sarconeos has obtained Orphan Drug Disease (ODD) designation from the FDA (Food and Drug Administration) and the EMA (European Medicines Agency), to treat Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy (DMD). As there are very few drug treatments available, Sarconeos is a drug candidate that has the potential to significantly slow the progression of the disease and could be used alone or in combination with genetic therapy, when the latter is available, in children with DMD. The status of ODD or orphan medication could give Sarconeos the advantages associated with orphan drug status, in particular the possibility of early registration (on the basis of a conditional authorisation) and protection for 7 to10 years after receiving the marketing authorisation.

Myopathie de Duchenne : programme clinique MYODA

Logo-Myoda

À propos de la dystrophie musculaire de Duchenne

La dystrophie musculaire de Duchenne (DMD) est une maladie héréditaire récessive rare et liée au chromosome X qui touche 1 garçon sur 3 500. La DMD est la dystrophie musculaire la plus fréquente chez l’enfant et a une issue fatale.

La DMD est due à l’altération du gène de la dystrophine, qui entraîne l’absence de dystrophine fonctionnelle, entraînant une faiblesse musculaire progressive, mais aussi des malformations cardiaques et une altération de la fonction respiratoire, ce qui provoque la mort prématurée des patients avant 40 ans. Dans l’Union européenne, la prévalence de la DMD est estimée à 0,81 pour 10 000 habitants.

L’absence de dystrophine rend le complexe DAGC (distrophyn associated glycoprotein complex) instable et la membrane des fibres musculaires est gravement affaiblie. Par conséquent, pendant la contraction musculaire, les fibres seront endommagées et mourront éventuellement (nécrose). Les phénomènes de régénération du tissu musculaire sont mis en place en parallèle, à partir des cellules souches du tissu musculaire (les cellules satellites). Lorsque les mécanismes de régénération sont épuisés, la dégénérescence prévaut, les fibres musculaires sont alors remplacées par du tissu conjonctif (fibrose) et du tissu adipeux, entraînant une perte de force musculaire et une intolérance à l’exercice.

Les premiers signes cliniques de la maladie apparaissent pendant l’enfance. Les premiers symptômes sont habituellement rapportés avant l’âge de 5 ans. La DMD évolue selon une progression très bien décrite. La maladie se manifeste d’abord dans les muscles inférieurs. Vers l’âge de 10 à 12 ans, l’utilisation d’un fauteuil roulant devient essentielle. Le tonus musculaire du tronc et des bras disparaît progressivement, entraînant des complications (infections broncho-pulmonaires et complications ventilatoires), ainsi qu’une scoliose sévère. Vers l’âge de 20 ans, les patients développent des insuffisances respiratoires et cardiaques majeures, qui entraînent inexorablement la mort vers l’âge de 30 ans.

Preuve du concept

Biophytis s’est concentré sur un modèle murin (souris) de la dystrophie musculaire de Duchenne (souris mdx), caractérisé par une mutation du gène de la dystrophine, pour démontrer les effets bénéfiques du BIO101 dans un cas de myopathie. Les animaux atteints de myopathie non traités (mdx) ont des performances physiques très médiocres par rapport aux animaux témoins, qui ne sont pas atteints de la maladie (C57Bl10). Les animaux Mdx qui reçoivent une dose quotidienne de Sarconeos par voie orale montrent une amélioration significative de leur performance physique avec :

  • Une augmentation de leur distance de course (tolérance à l’effort) d’un facteur 2,4
  • Une augmentation de la force musculaire absolue

Myoda-1Effet de la prise de Sarconeos sur la performance physique (distance de course et force maximale absolue) d’un modèle murin atteint de dystrophie musculaire de Duchenne (souris mdx)

L’étude de l’histologie musculaire de souris myopathes montre que les souris mdx présentent une infiltration inflammatoire ainsi que des zones de fibrose par rapport aux muscles sains chez les souris témoins C57Bl10. Biophytis a démontré que Sarconeos améliore le profil des lésions musculaires. En effet, le traitement quotidien des souris avec Sarconeos permet de diminuer l’atrophie des fibres musculaires et l’inflammation chronique associée à la fibrose.

L’analyse des marqueurs moléculaires a permis de montrer que le traitement oral quotidien des souris mdx par Sarconeos permet de réduire les marqueurs de fibrose (ctgf) ainsi que les marqueurs d’hypertrophie cardiaque (myh7 et bmp4), qui sont augmentés dans la myopathie de Duchenne.

Myoda-2Effet du traitement Sarconeos sur l’expression cardiaque des marqueurs de fibrose (Ctgf) ou l’hypertrophie cardiaque (Myh7 and Bmp4) chez les souris mdx.

Les effets fonctionnels bénéfiques observés chez les animaux traités par Sarconeos correspondent aux résultats obtenus avec les cellules humaines d’un patient atteint de dystrophie musculaire de Duchenne. En effet, Sarconeos est responsable de l’amélioration de la différenciation des myoblastes DMD en myotubes. De plus, dans ces mêmes cellules, Sarconeos induit une activation significative des voies de signalisation AKT/mTOR et MAPK/ERK, respectivement impliquées dans la protéosynthèse, la prolifération, la survie cellulaire et la régénération et le remodelage musculaires.

Myoda-3Effet de Sarconeos sur trois paramètres concernant la différenciation des myoblastes d’un patient DMD.

Programme clinique MYODA

Le programme clinique de Sarconeos pour la dystrophie musculaire de Duchenne (DMD) comprendra 2 études principales : MYODA-PK et MYODA-INT.

La première étude, MYODA-PK, est une étude pédiatrique de phase 1/2 combinée SAD-MAD. Elle vise à évaluer l’innocuité, la pharmacocinétique et la pharmacodynamique de la nouvelle forme pédiatrique de Sarconeos chez 27 patients âgés de 2 à 18 ans, après l’administration par voie orale d’une dose unique ascendante (SAD) puis de doses multiples ascendantes (MAD) pendant 24 semaines. Nous prévoyons 4 doses en SAD, dont 3 seront testées en MAD. L’innocuité et l’acceptabilité, les effets indésirables et les profils pharmacocinétique et pharmacodynamique de BIO101 seront évalués par groupe d’âge. Sarconeos sera testé dans sa nouvelle formulation adaptée aux patients pédiatriques.

La deuxième étude, MYODA-INT, est une étude clinique de phase 3, randomisée, en double aveugle, contrôlée par placebo. Elle vise à évaluer l’innocuité et l’efficacité de SARCONEOS dans la nouvelle formulation orale qui sera administrée à 120 enfants de 5 à 12 ans atteints de dystrophie musculaire de Duchenne. La durée du traitement est de 12 mois. Les principaux critères d’évaluation seront, pour les patients ambulatoires, la modification de l’évaluation ambulatoire North Star (NSAA) et, pour les patients non ambulatoires, la modification du score au test de performance des membres supérieurs (PUL).

Sarconeos a obtenu la désignation Orphan Drug Disease (ODD) de la FDA (Food and Drug Administration) et de l’EMA (European Medicines Agency), pour traiter la dystrophie musculaire de Duchenne (DMD). Comme il existe très peu de traitements médicamenteux disponibles, Sarconeos est un candidat-médicament qui a le potentiel de ralentir significativement la progression de la maladie et pourrait être utilisé seul ou en association avec une thérapie génétique, lorsque celle-ci est disponible, chez les enfants atteints de DMD. Le statut d’ODD ou de médicament orphelin pourrait donner à Sarconeos les avantages associés au statut de médicament orphelin, en particulier la possibilité d’un enregistrement précoce (sur la base d’une autorisation conditionnelle) et une protection pendant 7 à 10 ans après avoir reçu l’autorisation de mise sur le marché.