Age-related Macular Degeneration : MACA clinical program

Logo-MACA

About Age-related Macular Degeneration

AMD affects the central part of the retina, known as the macula, leading to serious visual impairment and irreversible loss of central vision. The macular function is responsible for central vision and its sharpness is provided by the densely packed photoreceptor cells known as cones. The early stage of AMD is characterised by deposits called Drüsen, made up of A2E accumulation in particular, which only marginally affect vision. The patient gradually notices some deterioration in his/her central vision, which is then diagnosed by the ophthalmologist; this is the intermediate stage or age-related maculopathy (ARM). Later phases include two forms of AMD: wet AMD, also called exudative or neovascular AMD, characterised by the growth of choroidal neovessels in the subretinal space, or geographic atrophy (dry AMD), which is characterised by the loss of retinin pigment epithelium cells and photoreceptors which are the cells needed for the visual cycle. Dry AMD is much more common than wet AMD. The last stages of these two forms lead to the destruction of the neurosensory retina in the macular region; the progression of exudative (wet) AMD can lead to complete blindness within a few weeks, while the progression of dry AMD is generally slow.

AMD in its “wet” and “dry” forms currently affects 30 million people throughout the world. It is estimated that around 500,000 new cases of wet AMD are diagnosed every year throughout the world, and this figure is likely to increase dramatically as the population ages. It is estimated that more than 60 million people throughout the world, including 2 million in France, will be affected in 2050, making AMD a major health concern for elderly populations. The disease is rare before the age of 65, but its prevalence increases exponentially with age. The prevalence of the early stages is 1.6% in individuals over the age of 75, rising to almost 5% in those aged 75-84, and the frequency increases to 13% in persons aged 85 and over in the population studies. Legal blindness frequently develops over time, because the disease tends to become bilateral in 30% – 40% of patients within 5 years.

Serious visual impairment has an enormous impact on the quality of life. Individuals who present with a significant reduction in their visual acuity have limited ability to perform everyday tasks and their mobility is restricted as well. Patients with AMD claim that their general quality of life is 20%-25% below that of healthy elderly adults. Psychosocial distress is also associated with AMD, with higher numbers of patients suffering from emotional distress and depression than other elderly adults. The cost to society is only now beginning to be revealed.

MACA-PK Study

MACA-PK is a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled study that will provide on one hand a phase 1 objective which consists of evaluating the safety and pharmacokinetics of Macuneos in 2 stages: Single Ascending Dose (SAD), then Multiple Ascending Dose (MAD). The SAD study will involve 32 healthy volunteers in 2 centers in Belgium, the MAD study will involve 32 healthy volunteers with a 14 days follow up in 2 centers in Belgium. The endpoints will be safety, pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics, measured through various plasmatic biomarkers.

MACA-INT Study

The objective of MACA-INT is to determine the therapeutically effective dose of Macuneos in elderly persons suffering from the intermediate dry form of AMD in at least one eye (without loss of visual acuity) and who are likely to develop a severe form (exudative form or geographic atrophy). It is planned to be a multicentric, randomized double-blind, placebo-controlled study. That would involve 300 patients suffering of intermediate and late dry AMD, that will receive MACUNEOS at 100 mg, or 350 mg, and a placebo group. The planned duration of the study is 24 months with an interim analysis after 12 months. The primary endpoint will be atrophic lesions size progression, and the secondary endpoints, dark adaptation, accumulation of drusens, evolution towards wet AMD, and visual acuity.

Dégénérescence maculaire liée à l’âge : programme clinique MACA

Logo-MACA

À propos de la dégénérescence maculaire liée à l’âge

La DMLA affecte la partie centrale de la rétine, appelée macula, ce qui entraîne une déficience visuelle grave et une perte irréversible de la vision centrale. La fonction maculaire est responsable de la vision centrale et sa netteté est assurée par les cellules photoréceptrices densément regroupées appelées cônes. Le stade précoce de la DMLA est caractérisé par des dépôts appelés drüsen, constitués notamment d’une accumulation d’A2E, qui n’affectent que marginalement la vision. Le patient remarque progressivement une certaine détérioration de sa vision centrale, qui est ensuite diagnostiquée par l’ophtalmologiste ; il s’agit du stade intermédiaire ou maculopathie liée à l’âge (MLA). Les phases ultérieures comprennent deux formes de DMLA : la DMLA humide, aussi appelée DMLA exsudative ou néovasculaire, caractérisée par la croissance de néovaisseaux choroïdiens dans l’espace sous-rétinien, ou atrophie géographique (DMLA sèche), qui est caractérisée par la perte des cellules épithéliales pigmentaires rétiniennes et des photorécepteurs qui sont les cellules nécessaires pour le cycle visuel. La DMLA sèche est beaucoup plus courante que la DMLA humide. Les dernières étapes de ces deux formes entraînent la destruction de la rétine neurosensorielle dans la région maculaire ; la progression de la DMLA exsudative (humide) peut entraîner une cécité complète en quelques semaines, tandis que la progression de la DMLA sèche est généralement lente.

La DMLA sous ses formes « humide » et « sèche » touche actuellement 30 millions de personnes dans le monde. On estime qu’environ 500 000 nouveaux cas de DMLA humide sont diagnostiqués chaque année dans le monde, et ce chiffre est susceptible d’augmenter considérablement à mesure que la population vieillit. On estime que plus de 60 millions de personnes dans le monde, dont 2 millions en France, seront touchées en 2050, faisant de la DMLA un problème de santé majeur pour les personnes âgées. La maladie est rare avant l’âge de 65 ans, mais sa prévalence augmente de façon exponentielle avec l’âge. La prévalence des stades précoces est de 1,6 % chez les personnes de plus de 75 ans, atteignant près de 5 % chez les personnes de 75 à 84 ans, et la fréquence augmente à 13 % chez les personnes de 85 ans et plus dans les études démographiques. La cécité légale se développe fréquemment avec le temps, car la maladie tend à devenir bilatérale chez 30 à 40 % des patients en 5 ans.

Une déficience visuelle grave a un impact énorme sur la qualité de vie. Les personnes qui présentent une réduction importante de leur acuité visuelle ont une capacité limitée d’accomplir des tâches quotidiennes et leur mobilité est également restreinte. Les patients atteints de DMLA affirment que leur qualité de vie générale est de 20 à 25 % inférieure à celle des personnes âgées en bonne santé. La détresse psychosociale est également associée à la DMLA, avec un plus grand nombre de patients souffrant de détresse émotionnelle et de dépression que les autres adultes âgés. Le coût pour la société commence seulement maintenant à être révélé.

Étude MACA-PK

MACA-PK est une étude randomisée, en double aveugle, contrôlée par placebo, qui consistera à évaluer en phase 1 l’innocuité et la pharmacocinétique de Macuneos, en 2 étapes : dose unique ascendante (SAD), puis dose multiple ascendante (MAD). L’étude SAD impliquera 32 volontaires sains dans 2 centres en Belgique, l’étude MAD impliquera 32 volontaires sains avec un suivi de 14 jours dans 2 centres en Belgique. Les critères d’évaluation seront l’innocuité, la pharmacocinétique et la pharmacodynamique, mesurés au moyen de divers biomarqueurs plasmatiques.

Étude MACA-INT

L’objectif de MACA-INT est de déterminer la dose thérapeutiquement efficace de Macuneos chez les personnes âgées souffrant de la forme sèche intermédiaire de la DMLA dans au moins un œil (sans perte d’acuité visuelle) et susceptibles de développer une forme sévère (forme exsudative ou atrophie géographique). Il s’agit d’une étude multicentrique, randomisée, en double aveugle et contrôlée par placebo. Cela impliquerait 300 patients souffrant de DMLA sèche intermédiaire et tardive, qui recevront MACUNEOS en dose de 100 mg, ou 350 mg, et un groupe placebo. La durée prévue de l’étude est de 24 mois avec une analyse intermédiaire après 12 mois. Le critère d’évaluation principal sera la progression de la taille des lésions atrophiques et les critères d’évaluation secondaires, l’adaptation à l’obscurité, l’accumulation des drüsen, l’évolution vers la DMLA humide et l’acuité visuelle.