Sarcopenia : SARA clinical program

Logo-SARA

ABOUT SARCOPENIA

  • An age-related degeneration of skeletal muscle characterized by a loss of muscle mass, strength, balance and the ability to stand and/or walk.
  • One of the leading causes of mobility disability in the elderly (65 years).
  • Results in a loss of independence, increased risk of adverse health events and hospitalization, and potential death stemming from falls, fractures, and physical disability.
  • Estimated prevalence between 6-22% in the elderly (³65 years).
  • First defined in 1989 and classified as a disease in 2016 based on the World Health Organization (WHO)’s ICD-10-CM code M62.84.
  • No approved medication to treat sarcopenia.
  • No widely accepted standard of care, however current non-medicinal treatment recommendations primarily focus on moderate physical activity, such as 30 minutes of walking per day or resistance-based (strength) training, and nutritional intervention.

SARA-INT PHASE 2B INTERVENTIONAL CLINICAL TRIAL

We are currently testing the safety and efficacy of Sarconeos (BIO101) in a global, randomized, multicenter, double-blind, placebo-controlled Phase 2b clinical trial (SARA-INT) of 334 patients with sarcopenia at risk of mobility disability. The first patient in the SARA-INT Phase 2b clinical trial was enrolled in 2018 and we expect to complete enrollment in 2020.

Objectives

  • Evaluate the safety and effectiveness of two doses, 175 and 350 mg b.i.d. (twice daily) of Sarconeos (BIO101) administered orally with a meal for 26 weeks against a placebo in participants over 65 at risk of impaired mobility.
  • Measure treatment effect on improvement of physical function and on decrease of risk of mobility disability after six-month treatment.

Inclusion Criteria

  • Based on a Short Performance Physical Battery (SPPB) score £8 out of 12 (as an index of loss of motor function) and the Foundation for the National Institutes of Health (FNIH) guidelines.

Primary Endpoint

  • Change from baseline in the time it takes to complete the 400-meter walk test (400MWT). A minimum clinically significant benefit is set at 0.05 meters per second (m/s) in the mean difference between groups.

Key Secondary Endpoints

  • Change from baseline in the time it takes to rise from a chair (a component of the SPPB test).
  • 400MWT responder analysis.
  • Change from baseline and responder analysis on standard patient reported outcome (PRO), including the Short-form Health-survey (SF-36), and the Physical Function domain (PF-10) of the SF-36 questionnaire.

Pre-defined Subgroup Analysis

  • a “very low walking speed subpopulation” defined as having a gait speed £8 m/s in the 4-meter walk test (a component of the SPPB test).
  • A “subpopulation with sarcopenic obesity” defined by a body fat percentage of >25% for men and >35% for women.
  • a population pharmacokinetic (PK) sub-study (SARA-POP-PK) will evaluate PK values after one month, three months and six months of administration in a subgroup of participants at certain European centers.

For more information please visit clinicaltrials.gov (Identifier: NCT03452488).

SARA-OBS PHASE 2 OBSERVATIONAL STUDY

Beginning in February 2017, the SARA-OBS observational study followed 218 participants with sarcopenia across 11 clinical centers in the United States and Europe (France, Italy and Belgium) over six months. We completed enrollment in October 2018 and expect final results to be presented at a medical meeting in 2019.

The objective of the SARA-OBS study was to characterize sarcopenia in patients over the age of 65 at risk of mobility disability by evaluating the mobility and physical performance, including body composition, of these participants. SARA-OBS was designed and structured as a pre-selection for the SARA-INT Phase 2b clinical trial, and participants in SARA-OBS may be eligible to enroll in the SARA-INT Phase 2b clinical trial at the end of the observation period following a rescreening and reconsenting process.

SARA-PK PHASE 1 CLINICAL TRIAL

In 2017, we presented results from a dose-escalating Phase 1 clinical trial (SARA-PK) that evaluated the safety, pharmacokinetic (PK) and pharmacodynamic (PD) effects of Sarconeos (BIO101) in 54 healthy adult and elderly volunteers. The SARA-PK trial allowed us to determine the two safe, active dosing levels (175 and 350 mg b.i.d.) for our ongoing SARA-INT Phase 2b clinical trial.

Sarcopénie : programme Clinique SARA

Logo-SARA

A PROPOS DE LA SARCOPÉNIE

  • Dégénérescence des muscles squelettiques liée à l’âge caractérisée par une diminution de la force, de l’équilibre et de la capacité à se tenir debout et/ou à marcher.
  • C’est l’une des principales causes de déficience motrice chez les personnes âgées (³65 ans)
  • La déficience motrice entraîne une perte d’indépendance et un accroissement du risque de problèmes de santé, d’hospitalisation et de décès résultant de chutes, fractures et handicap physique.
  • Prévalence estimée chez les personnes âgées (65 ans) entre 6-22%
  • La sarcopénie a été décrite pour la première fois en 1989 et officiellement qualifiée de maladie en 2016 lorsque lui a été attribué le code ICD-10-CM code M62.84.par l’Organisation Mondiale de la Santé (OMS)
  • Aucun traitement autorisé pour traiter la sarcopénie
  • A ce jour, il n’existe pas de traitement standard pour la sarcopénie, cependant il existe des recommandations quant à une activité physique modérée, telle que 30 minutes de marche quotidiennes, des exercices de résistance musculaires et un support nutritionnel

ESSAI CLINIQUE INTERVENTIONNEL SARA-INT DE PHASE 2B

Nous testons la sécurité et l’efficacité de Sarconeos (BIO101) dans le cadre d’un essai clinique en cours de phase 2b (SARA-INT) global, randomisé, multicentrique, en double aveugle, contrôlé par placebo, auprès de 334 patients âgés présentant un risque de déficience motrice. Le premier patient de l’essai clinique SARA INT de phase 2b a été recruté en 2018 et nous prévoyons de terminer le recrutement en 2020.

Objectifs

  • Évaluer la sécurité et l’efficacité de deux doses, 175 et 350 mg 2 fois par jour de Sarconeos (BIO101), administrées par voie orale avec un repas pendant 26 semaines contre un placebo, chez les participants de plus de 65 ans à risque de déficience motrice
  • Mesurer l’effet du traitement sur l’amélioration de la fonction physique et sur la diminution du risque de déficience motrice après six mois de traitement.

Critères d’inclusion

  • Basés sur un score ≤ 8 (sur 12) au test SPPB (Short Physical Performance Battery) comme indice de perte de fonction motrice. Sont prises également en considération les recommandations de la Foundation for the National Institutes of Health

Critère d’efficacité primaire

  • La variation par rapport à la valeur au moment de l’inclusion de la vitesse lors de la réalisation du test 400MWT

Principaux critères d’efficacité secondaires

  • La variation par rapport à la valeur au moment de l’inclusion dans le temps nécessaire pour se lever d’une chaise, qui est l’un des critères de mobilité qui constituent le test
  • Analyse des personnes répondant au test 400MWT
  • La variation par rapport à la valeur au moment de l’inclusion et l’analyse du questionnaire de réponses déclarées par le patient (PRO), y compris le Short-form Health-survey (SF-36) et le Physical Function domain (PF-10) du questionnaire SF-36.

Analyses de sous-groupes prédéfinis

  • Une « sous-population marchant à très faible vitesse », définie comme ayant une vitesse de marche ≤ 0,8 m/s dans le test 400MWT (composante du test SPPB)
  • Une « sous-population présentant une obésité sarcopénique » définie comme ayant un pourcentage de graisse corporelle de > 25 % pour les hommes et de > 35 % pour les femmes.
  • Une sous-étude de pharmacocinétique de population (SARA POP PK), afin d’évaluer les valeurs de pharmacocinétique après un mois, trois mois et six mois d’administration à un sous-groupe de participants, dans certains centres européens.

Pour plus d’informations, veuillez visiter clinicaltrials.gov (Identifier : NCT03452488).

ESSAI CLINIQUE OBSERVATIONNEL SARA-OBS DE PHASE 2

Lancée en février 2017, l’étude SARA OBS a suivi 218 participants atteints de sarcopénie dans 11 centres cliniques aux États-Unis et en Europe (France, Italie et Belgique) pendant six mois. Nous avons terminé le recrutement en octobre 2018, et prévoyons la publication des résultats finaux lors d’une réunion des investigateurs en 2019.

L’étude SARA-OBS avait pour objectif de caractériser la sarcopénie chez les patients de plus de 65 ans présentant un risque d’incapacité de mobilité en évaluant la mobilité et les performances physiques, y compris la composition corporelle de ces participants. SARA OBS a été structurée pour pré-recruter des patients pour l’essai clinique de phase 2b SARA INT. Les patients admissibles dans l’étude SARA OBS peuvent participer à l’essai clinique de phase 2b SARA INT après leur période d’observation et un processus de réanalyse et de consentement.

ESSAI CLINIQUE SARA-PK DE PHASE 1

En 2017, nous avons présenté les résultats d’un essai clinique de phase 1 à doses ascendantes (SARA-PK) évaluant l’innocuité clinique, la pharmacocinétique (PK) et la pharmacodynamique de Sarconeos (BIO101) chez 54 volontaires adultes sains, et personnes âgées. L’essai SARA-PK nous a permis de déterminer les deux doses sans danger et actives (175 mg et 350 mg b.i.d.) de notre essai clinique en cours de phase 2 SARA-INT.