Scientific Advisory Board

mariani_9396_DEFProfessor Jean MARIANI

Director of the Institut de la Longévité Charles Foix [Longevity Institute], and a practitioner at the hospital, director of the CNRS-UPMC (UMR 7102) Laboratoire de Neurobiologie des Processus Adaptatifs [Laboratory of Neurobiology of Adaptive Processes], Professor Jean Mariani is an expert in neurobiology, central nervous system and pathologies, and neurodegenerative illnesses.

4656_DEFPr. René LAFONT – Scientific Director

Co-founder of the company, with Stanislas Veillet, René Lafont is a biochemist (Ecole Normale Supérieure), Professor Emeritus at UPMC (University Pierre et Marie Curie) and former Dean of the Department of Life Sciences. He is the author of 170 scientific publications and of a dozen patents. He is also, notably, a Chevalier de l’Ordre des Palmes Académiques, and a Laureate of the Karlson Foundation (Germany).

José-Alain SahelProfessor José-Alain SAHEL

A doctor of ophthalmology, member of the Académie des Sciences, laureate of the CNRS 2012 médaille de l’innovation [Innovation award] and Officier de l’Ordre National du Mérite, José-Alain Sahel currently runs the Institut de la Vision, a research centre associated with the Hôpital des Quinze-Vingts (Paris), Inserm, and the UPMC (University Pierre et Marie Curie). He is a pioneer in the field of the artificial retina and regenerative treatments for the eye. Several companies have been created as a result of his works, including Fovéa Pharmaceuticals, GenSight Biologics and Pixium-Vision.

ivana-kimPROFESSOR IVANA KIM

Dr. Kim is Co-Director of the Harvard Medical School Department of Ophthalmology Age-Related Macular Degeneration (AMD) Center of Excellence – a multidisciplinary collaboration among clinicians and scientists who are pooling their knowledge and resources with the goal of advancing breakthroughs in treatment for patients with AMD. Dr. Kim received her medical training at Harvard Medical School (HMS).

roger-fieldingPROFESSOR ROGER A. FIELDING

Dr. Fielding is currently a Professor at the Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy at Tufts University. He is also Director, Human Studies, at the Jean Mayer USDA Human Nutrition Research Center on Aging, a Lecturer on Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation at Harvard Medical School’s Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, and a Professor of Medicine at Tufts University School of Medicine. Dr. Fielding’s primary research focus is on the impact of exercise and physical activity on successful human aging, skeletal muscle alterations, and age-related alterations in the control of skeletal muscle protein turnover.

Thomas Voit_1Dr. Thomas VOIT

MD, Dr. med. habil. Professor Thomas Voit is the Director of the Biomedical Research Centre (BRC) of the Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children NHS Foundation Trust and the Institute of Child Health, University College London. Previously Professor Voit was at the Pierre et Marie Curie (Sorbonne) University, Paris, where he was the Medical and Scientific Director of the Institute of Myology and Director of an INSERM/CNRS Research Center. Prior to this he was a professor and the Head of Pediatrics at University Hospital, Essen.

Biophytis

Professeur Jean MARIANI

Directeur de l’Institut de la Longévité Charles Foix et praticien au sein de cet hôpital, directeur du laboratoire de Neurobiologie des Processus Adaptatifs du CNRS-UPMC (UMR 7102), le professeur Jean MARIANI est expert en neurobiologie, développement du système nerveux central et pathologique et des maladies neurodégénératives.

Pr. René LAFONT – Directeur Scientifique

Co-fondateur de la société avec Stanislas VEILLET, René LAFONT est biochimiste (Ecole Normale Supérieure), Professeur Emérite à Sorbonne Université (Université Pierre et Marie Curie) et ancien Doyen en charge du département Sciences de la Vie. Auteur de 170 publications scientifiques et d’une dizaine de brevets, il est notamment Chevalier de l’Ordre des Palmes Académiques et Lauréat de la Fondation Karlson (Allemagne).

roger-fieldingPROFESSEUR ROGER A. FIELDING

Dr. Fielding est professeur à la Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy de Tufts University. Il est aussi Directeur des Etudes Humaines au Jean Mayer USDA Human Nutrition Research Center on Aging, Maitre de conférences en médecine physique et réhabilitation à la Harvard Medical School, et professeur de médecine à la Tufts University School of Medecine. Dr. Fielding mène des recherches sur l’impact de l’exercice et de l’activité physique sur le bon déroulement du vieillissement, sur les changements liés à l’âge du muscle squelettique, et sur les altérations de protéine du muscle squelettique.

Thomas Voit_1Dr. Thomas VOIT

Docteur en médecine, le professeur Thomas Voit est le directeur du Centre de recherche biomédicale (BRC) du Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children NHS Foundation Trust et de l’Institute of Child Health, University College London. Précédemment, le professeur Voit était à l’Université (Sorbonne) Pierre et Marie Curie, à Paris, où il était Directeur Médical et Scientifique de l’Institut de Myologie et Directeur d’un Centre de Recherche INSERM / CNRS. Auparavant il était professeur et directeur du service de pédiatrie à l’hôpital universitaire d’Essen.

José-Alain Sahel, Prix Opecst Inserm 2015Professeur José-Alain SAHEL

Médecin ophtalmologiste, membre de l’Académie des Sciences, lauréat de la médaille de l’innovation du CNRS 2012 et Officier de l’Ordre National du Mérite, José-Alain SAHEL dirige actuellement l’Institut de la Vision, un centre de recherche associé à l’hôpital des Quinze-Vingts (Paris), à l’Inserm, et à l’UPMC (Université Pierre et Marie Curie). C’est un pionnier dans le domaine de la rétine artificielle et des thérapies régénératrices de l’œil. Ses travaux sont à l’origine de plusieurs créations d’entreprises parmi lesquelles Fovéa Pharmaceuticals, GenSight Biologics et Pixium-Vision.

ivana-kimPROFESSEURE IVANA KIM

Dr. Kim est Co-Directrice du département Ophtalmologie spécialisé dans la dégénération maculaire liée à l’âge (DMLA) de la Harvard Medical School – une collaboration multidisciplinaire entre cliniciens et scientifiques associant leurs connaissances et leurs ressources afin d’obtenir des avancées importantes dans le domaine de la dégénération maculaire liée à l’âge. Dr. Kim a achevé sa formation médicale à la Harvard Medical School.